top of page

What's All The Hype Over Arnica?


I realized how special arnica was when I had to use it myself after a pretty bad car accident I had in the summer of 2016 (I’ll explain more about that later) First, Arnica, in my opinion, is one of the greatest herbal gifts God has given us. Arnica, or Arnica Montana, when used topically is very effective for the treatment of bruises, painful injuries, aches, pains, torn ligaments and strains. Arnicas biochemical constituent is Sesquiterpene Lactone Helenalin and it is what gives arnica its anti-inflammatory action. It’s my go to herb for all the bumps, bruises and various other complaints my 7-year-old throws at me, because I know more than likely, it will do the trick. When made into an oil, it works fantastic on a variety of problems ranging from bruises to arthritic joints. I am always amazed when I see an herb work the same or sometimes even better then prescription medication for pain. Better because it’s safe, effective and natural.

Ok, back to my bad car accident. I was driving home one sunny afternoon on a remote stretch of road here in Vermont. I was a few towns away from my home. Initially, when I got into the car, I knew I didn’t feel well. I had a bad stomach ache and I didn’t feel like myself at all. I figured I could get home as it wasn’t that bad yet and started on my way. As I drove, the all too familiar feeling you get when you are about to lose your lunch crept up on me. It intensified so bad that I knew I had to pull over quickly. I looked for a place to pull over but there was no time, my brain wasn’t piecing things together in a clear enough way, so I began to slow down in the middle of the road, trying to come to a complete stop so I could put the car in park, but I didn’t get the chance before I passed out. Now, I have never passed out before, I didn't even know I was passing out. I woke up to find a very nice gentleman (whom I did not know but I now just call him my guardian angel), cutting the airbag that deployed from my door and when I found out a few minutes later that I had rolled the car, I couldn’t believe I was, for the most part, alright or at least alive and mostly alright! I had never gotten into a car accident before, let alone roll the car. Thank God for seatbelts!

However, the next day the pain and discomfort hit me. I could not turn my head and was pretty locked up from my neck down. Thank goodness, I had recently made a batch of arnica compound. I rubbed it on my neck and back. Within minutes, (really) I starting to feel like the tightness was loosening. I had a little more range when I turned my head, and my headache started to lessen. I applied the salve about three times a day until the pain was gone. That was the first time I was so grateful for this herb. Since then, I have used it for a variety of problems and it has never let me down. Some things to consider:

  • Be very careful where you purchase your arnica salves and creams. Some arnica products have very little or low infused arnica in them. Ask questions about the length of infusion time and how much arnica is in the product.

  • It’s important to be patient when starting any herbal regiment. Sometimes herbs take time to produce the desired effect. The key is to stay with it and be consistent.

  • Arnica should not be taken internally or be used on broken skin.

  • If you are going to make your own arnica products, great! Make sure you buy your herbs from a reputable dealer. The dried flower heads should be a nice yellow color and billowy in texture. Arnica can be a rather expensive herb and making an arnica oil can be time consuming, so if you would rather buy your arnica products, that’s ok too. Make sure the product you purchase is from someone who has lovingly and thoughtfully produced it.

My Deep Ache Trauma Compound has arnica and comfrey and is available by clicking here www.pureandsimpleherbals.com for bulk orders or here for smaller orders. This salve is what I used after my accident and the only thing I use when I am suffering with muscle and other painful injuries.

Thank you so much for reading this post. I sure do enjoy spending time with you! Spring time is here and I hope you get a chance to enjoy all that this time of year has to offer! Many Blessings! Michele Thurston

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Live

 a better 

Life

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page